The Boardman Tasker Charitable Trust

The trust was established to promote literature by providing an annual award to authors of literary works, the central theme of which is concerned with mountains.

The prize of £3,000 commemorates the lives of Peter Boardman and Joe Tasker and is given to the author or co-authors of an original work which has made an outstanding contribution to mountain literature.

On 17 May 1982 Peter Boardman and Joe Tasker were last seen on Mount Everest attempting to traverse The Pinnacles on the unclimbed North East Ridge at around 8250 metres. Their deaths marked the end of a remarkable era in British mountaineering.

Peter and Joe left two legacies. One was their great endeavour, their climbs on high peaks with bold, lightweight innovative methods which included Dunagiri, Changabang, Kongur, Everest and Kangchenjunga. The second and more lasting achievement were the books they wrote and left behind.

This literary legacy lives on through the Boardman Tasker Prize for mountain literature set up by family and friends in 1983.


Winner of the 2013 Prize

EVEREST, THE FIRST ASCENT The untold story of Griffith Pugh, the man who made it possible by Harriet Tuckey, published by Rider, an imprint of Ebury Publishing (Random House Group)

Immensely readable biography of the 1953 expedition doctor and physiologist, the author's 'difficult, bad-tempered father' who she lived with in an 'uncommunicative co-existence'.

ISBN 978-1-84604-348-2

Special Award

A special award has been given to Jim Curran for "His Outstanding and Consistent Contribution to Mountain Literature"


Wendy Bonington

Wendy Bonington left this world on the 24th July and the gap she leaves in so many people's lives cannot be filled. The love and compassion she had for others will always remain in our hearts. The deepest condolences of all those at the Boardman Tasker Charitable Trust to her family.

The 2014 Prize

The final list of entries for the 2014 Boardman Tasker Prize is now available.

2014 Judges

Audrey Salkeld, noted mountain historian, regular magazine contributor and editor of several mountain anthologies and textbooks.

Chris Harle, an experienced and widely travelled mountaineer and co-author of Mountain Words: British Hill & Crag Literature into the 21st Century.

Robin Campbell, a former Editor of the SMC Journal and current SMC Archivist and Librarian. He has written numerous pieces for journals and magazines and compiled a book, The Munroist's Companion

A shortlist will be announced in September and the winner at a prizegivng ceremony in November.

Details of the 2014 Young Writer's Award.




Paul Tasker (Chairman),  Stephen Dean (Secretary),  John Boardman (Treasurer),
Sir Chris Bonington CBE,  Maria Coffey,  Dennis Gray,  Dick Renshaw,
Hilary Rhodes,  Teresa Tasker,  Martin Wragg