The 1983 judges (Lord Hunt, David Cox & Ronald Faux) decided not to award the prize to any of the books entered as in their view the quality did not meet the level set by Pete and Joe’s works.


Lundy's War by Brian Carter | Dent

Beyond Endurance by Glen Bennet | Secker And Warburg

Expeditions And Exploration by Nigel Gifford | Macmillan

High Level by David Bell | Gollancz

Himalayan Kingdoms by Bob Gibbons & Bob Asford | Batsford

First Across The Roof Of The World by Peter Hillary & Graeme Dingle | Hodder (Auckland)

Memorable Munros by Richard Gilbert | Diadem

Lakeland's Greatest Pioneers by Bill Birkett | Robert Hale